It’s the Small Things

Over the past few years, I’ve become more cynical than I used to be. Partly due to working in the restaurant industry, dealing with impatient and rude customers. Partly due to other trials and tribulations. Sometimes, the smallest things help remind me that life isn’t all so bad.

For instance, my most recent grocery shopping trip helped me to see there is still good in the world. With everything that has been going on, the couple who helped me–as tiny as it was–could have easily laughed me away.

Those who know me, know that I am a shorter woman, standing at a mere 5’4″. While shopping for a new jar of treats for my sweet pups, the last of their favorites was on the tippy top shelf, where I absolutely cannot reach. I was reluctantly shopping at the local walmart where, let’s be honest, there are barely any employees or ladders around to help. There was a couple down the same aisle, shopping for treats for their dog. They started joking with me about how picky their dog is about treats. I explained I understood where they were coming from, and asked if they’d be able to help me reach my boys’ favorite treats. The couple was significantly taller than I am, so I thought it’d be worth a shot to ask. The gentleman gladly retrieved the last jar of my boys’ favorites and handed it off to me. I thanked them and we all went about our shopping.

This same trip, there was a woman shopping for a lotion to help her skin look firmer and younger. She picked up a bottle, looked at it and then at me, and exclaimed, “these are all so expensive, and I bet none of them will firm up my skin!” I told her the brand I prefer to use (Aveeno, for those who must know). She thanked me and went on her way.

Sometimes, when I’ve had a rough day at work–like today, being scolded, yelled at, sometimes even being cussed out, by customers, it’s nice to have this little reminder. No matter how bad your day has been, if you keep a smile on your face and notice the little things, your day will be that much better!

Lesson of the day: Always be kind to one another, even that stranger who looks a bit rough around the edges.

Leave a Reply

